1989 Chrysler LeBaron GTC

Most of the time when I show up to a scrapyard, I don't feel bad for what I find. Even when the cars are interesting, rare, or a combination of the two, they're typically well worn out, at the end of their roads. But this car was an exception.



Pictured here is a 1989 Chrysler LeBaron GTC Convertible. If my research is right, it's one of only 906 of this kind made that year.



Equipped here with a variant of Chrysler's oft-used 2.2 inline 4, it made just north of 170 horsepower. However, to see what really made me sad, we have to go inside.



Look at that interior. I see so many cars on the road today, more or less junked, with an interior way worse than this. There's even still courtesy mats on the floorboards!



To top it all off, look at that odometer reading. A slim 68,000 miles on a 33 year old vehicle.


Unfortunately, after several people contacted the yard to inquire, it turns out they won't sell anything whole once it hits the yard. At the very least, I can hope this car gets stripped of all its good parts so some part of it can live on.


Gallery